Chernobyl. Some thoughts and comments.

26 Apr

chernobyl-radiation-cloud-path-across-europe

On 26th April 1986, a massive failure in the Ukraine (USSR) resulted in a grade 7 release of radiation into the atmosphere.

We did not get to hear about it until some time later. I had just started a new job and was heading off, one morning in my new company Sierra Estate car when the radio¬† gave out the terrible news. With two small children back home, I got onto my brick sized car phone and like “E.T” ., I phoned home.

I think I alarmed my wife, but later, in retrospect, my warnings were possibly worthwhile. She kept the kids inside and out of the rain. The windows were closed and my little family retreated indoors.

A close friend, who was in the Police Force (correct terminology, back then) informed me that essential personnel had been issued with Iodine tablets to protect the Thyroid from effects of radioactive isotopes. On my way home I eventually tracked down some strong, Iodine throat lozenges and we all took some.

Much, much later, we were eventually informed that a cloud of radiation had indeed passed over the UK twice.

chernobyl-disaster

I find it interesting that this map shows fallout “from Chernobyl” around Wylfa Nuclear Powerstation in Angelsey and around other Nuclear facilities in the North West and South West. A cynical person would suggest a convenient cover up of our own shortcomings.

Much, much ,much later still, we slowly found out about radioactive vegetables being grown in parts of Scotland and radioactive sheep, banned from sale in Wales. I personally saw, weirdly paint marked sheep on the hills.

More recently we had another (known) grade 7 nuclear failure at Fukushima, Japan. Who in their right mind locates electrical powered essential pumps below ground level ,in a Tsunami flood zone? Do you know if your Tuna has been checked for radioactivity? Tuna spawn off the East coast of Japan before migrating across the Pacific to the West Coast fishing grounds off the U.S.A. Just right for the fallout zone from the water runoff at Fukushima.

So, what has this to do with Campervans? Answer: everything! Have we learned nothing since Chernobyl? My old Hippy traits bubble to the surface and I really could not support more Nuclear powerstations being built.

Tsunamis, earthquake, geological faults, terrorist attack,landslide and engineering failure. Need I go on.

In honour of those who died at Chernobyl and Fukushima trying to protect others.

 

Leave a Reply

