Anyone “vanning” out for Burns Night?

25 Jan

robbie burns

Ashamed to say that we are not camping out in Scotland for Burns Night but I have my haggis, neeps (swede) and tatties (potatoes) ready for tonight’s supper. I do not enjoy mashed potato that much so I am having mine boiled and “new”. I am also adding a little round of black pudding, simply because I like it ! In the past I have enjoyed (in Scotland) rounds of haggis and black pudding with a savoury “square” sausage as part of a full Scottish breakfast. This was on board an ocean going sailing yacht anchored off Tabbert on the east coast , North of Glasgow. After a drunken night at a marina, too……….
The best haggis I have personally tried was at the Crusoe Hotel in Fife. Wonderful stuff!
Does my choice of supper meet with Scottish approval? How do you eat yours?

burns night supper

As for accompanying drink, we are going with a strong , dark but inexpensive beer, swapping over to a whisky to follow. Is this OK with the traditionalists?

Some of Burns’ poems are very funny. Some very baudy. I have to have a Scots friend with me to translate much of it. Ideal taken with Whisky. Try “Tam O’Shanter” for a taster

2 Responses to “Anyone “vanning” out for Burns Night?”

  1. martin mcdowall January 25, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

    awe the best duncan and hope you have bought pam a red red rose. we at the house tonight but meeting friends the moara to break bread and toast ! the bard
    guid health tae yae man. cheers.

    • Dinkum January 26, 2014 at 9:54 am #

      Have a great night tonight. All that Pam got to see was a red nose! Only joking ! We had a lovely Burns supper. It took me back to meetings with the Scottish team at Penrith two decades ago. (Had more haggis for breakfast today too) Warmest regards to Libby and Your goodself.

Leave a Reply

