Is a VW Transporter any better than an NV200

13 Sep

vw-t5-day-campervan-layoutnissan nv200 camper

This website http://www.fuelly.com quotes average 36mpg for Diesel versions of the VW Transporter. The NV200 can return (and I have many claiming this !) 53mpg and more.I have seen one user claiming over 62mpg on a motorway trip in Yorkshire

This is just one part of a complex comparison between the VW and the NV.

I for one , do not dispute the immense popularity of VW. Having said that, I was put off buying a VW camper by reports of steering column failures , expensive repairs and unreliability. It is difficult to get to the truth but I decided to look for a real alternative.

The Nv200 has excellent fuel consumption figures. Dimensions are obviously smaller on the NV but it should still function as a viable campervan if the conversion is well thought out. ( see previous posts for dimensional differences).Is the compromise of slightly less space made up for by the lower fuel costs and relatively high specifications available on the NV200? Comments welcomed please !

11 Responses to “Is a VW Transporter any better than an NV200”

  1. David September 14, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Hi Dinkum, the main reason I purchased the E’nv’Y was the Good mpg figures. It seems the pre DPF models were much better on fuel. (I remember the MPG marathon, a 10 plate NV got near 70mpg! I purchased the euro 5 89hp- I regularly see 50+ mpg but real world driving I think 45 is about right. I do wish I had purchased the 110 6 speed with cruise!!!

    I think my best ever was around 58mpg but that was a slow 56 mph drive trying to slip stream lorries etc.

    • Dinkum September 14, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

      Valuable info. thanks ! I too bought the NV for fuel consumption. I remember years ago, US vehicles from California could get improved consumption by isolating an air pump which fed to the exhaust. Now we have Diesel Particle filters. Is it going green to increase vehicle fuel consumption for marginally cleaner atmosphere? I am not sure of the answer. I am getting cruise retrofitted. If you recall I got sold an SE and not the N-Tec ordered so no factory cruise. Will report on this once it’s done.😊

      > Date: Sat, 14 Sep 2013 13:12:17 +0000
      > To: dvickers1955@hotmail.co.uk
      >

  2. David September 14, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    I compare the NV more to a caddy (my previous van) but fuel on that was 35-40 mpg.

    When I was looking I had the caddy maxi and the NV on my radar. The NV was about 11500 compared to i think 16000 so it was a no brainer with better economy and more space!

    A few of my trade friends have VW transporters, they love the NV, they all say its “half the price but not half the van”!

    • Dinkum September 14, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

      My son had terrible experiences with a lovely looking Polo Estate. Engine service light coming on, then off and reset etc etc. Also the doors froze solid at the first sign of frost so you had to get in through the rear door on cold start days! It did put me off VW and yet I have loved the old Buses for decades!

  3. David September 15, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Dinkum your cruise control…… is it going to use the standard switches? Like the background picture?

    I purchased a set from a qashqai, hoping they could be coded in like vag do…… but it seems Nissan are not to clever with retro fitting stuff!

    • Dinkum September 15, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      No, apparently it uses a separate stalk and has two memories for speed. I will do separate posts when I get more info. You are right, Nissan basically said that it could not be retrofitted by Nissan. > Date: Sun, 15 Sep 2013 08:32:18 +0000 > To: dvickers1955@hotmail.co.uk >

  4. David September 15, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    Yes agree the older caddys were pretty poor, but the later 05 onwards with the pd 1.9 tdi engine was a pretty good motor!

    • Pete Jones September 17, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      I’ve now done 9500 miles in my NV200 N-Tec 110 with 6 Speed and Cruise (sorry to rub your nose in it Dinkum!). My fuel consumption is 51mpg commuting and shortish journeys and 53mpg on a long run. I normally drive somewhere near the speed limit, and try to drive efficiently (minimum accelerating uphill, carry speed through corners etc). My van is always loaded with about 100Kgs of sports equipment inside and nothing on the roof.

      • Dinkum September 18, 2013 at 7:26 am #

        Hi Pete ! Welcome back. Yes, I am a little envious of your factory supplied Cruise control and sat nav ! (Where will the retrofit stalk fit on mine ????) Your feedback is just the sort of thing that people will find useful when choosing a new van. The consumption is pretty good to say the least ! I only get about 57 mpg overall from a 1.6tdci Fiesta driven very carefully. It would be useful to hear of any little faults or problems as they occur to help produce a picture of living with an NV200. Thanks ! Dinkum > Date: Tue, 17 Sep 2013 19:28:46 +0000 > To: dvickers1955@hotmail.co.uk >

  5. Pete Jones September 19, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    So far I’ve covered 9700 miles and no faults at all. There isn’t enough lumbar support for me so I’ve got an additional mesh support and find it very comfortable now. Tomorrow I’m going on a road trip to Annecy and St Hilaire du Touvet in France for 12 days- can’t wait!

    Over winter I’ll be fitting the rear out with some storage units that will double up as a bed, I’m still finalising the design and gathering ideas for material- aluminium or wood, veltrim or flecked paint, raising roof or fixed, bed in roof? Blinds or curtains.. So many options. Alloy wheels will be fitted when the tyres wear out. Eventually it’ll have swivel seats too, maybe different seats fro original?

    I look forward to seeing your finished van for inspiration and ideas.

    Pete

    • Dinkum September 20, 2013 at 4:18 am #

      Hi Pete ! Good news on reliability so far and you are not the first to report in similar fashion, which is encouraging. Enjoy your trip to France, it’s memory making. There are some twin purpose type camper/stealth vans on You Tube with storage box/beds. Some look very workable and easy to use. Watch for bed size in roof and weight limit. I think it is about 75kg which rules me out for a first floor sleepover! OK for children though. Please send in photos as you progress. It is interesting for everyone watching. DIY seat swivels are feasible. Universal swivels , modded a little , with universal rails for passenger side if you don’t have them already. Mine didn’t. May be able to help with more info later. Have a safe trip and enjoy it , cheers Dinkum > Date: Thu, 19 Sep 2013 21:17:56 +0000 > To: dvickers1955@hotmail.co.uk >

Leave a Reply

