A much earlier “Bijou” Campervan

20 Aug

fiat campervan amigo

This is an old photo of what I believe is a Fiat Amigo Campervan. Whilst awaitimg the final call to collect the NV200 from Drivelodge, I thought that this would fill a gap.

The Fiat was owned by my wife’s Aunt and Uncle. It was their first camper, bought in the 1960’s (?). It was small to enable them to get to their holiday home in Cornwall and give them a day van for outings to the remoter parts of the very rural South West. Before I met my wife, my family were friends of her Aunt and Uncle and I met the campervan long before I met and married my wife!
I recall some criticism of such a small “van” for “well built folk” but the Fiat was much loved and was used a great deal on 600 mile round trips to and from Cornwall.
I was a petrol head from the age of about 6 years old and I remember being absolutely fascinated by the home from home inside this little Fiat. I think it was air cooled with about 850 cc’s capacity or so ? I have the original sales brochure for it somewhere and will try to post the best bits.
Hope that it has been of interest to you !
Please comment if you can shed any light or memories of your own on these lovely little campervans.

4 Responses to “A much earlier “Bijou” Campervan”

  1. Alan Parkinson August 20, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Not an Amigo, this model was the Pandora, the Amigos had canvas sided elevating roofs. The Pandora had all solid sided slide out roofs almost like a little house on top that almost doubled the living space. I have photos of mine open somewhere that I can scan and send you if you like. Loved that little thing though they were notorious for rusting on the sills.

    • Dinkum August 20, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      Alan ,thanks for that ! You can send pics and other comments to dinkumkamper@gmail.com Is it OK for me to re-post them on this Blog?

  2. Alan Parkinson August 20, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Hi, welcome. Just a quick search turned up loads of pictures on Google images and maybe this would be easier than me scanning. https://www.google.co.nz/search?q=fiat+pandora&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=v-QTUrSdNI_LkgXPsIGIDQ&sqi=2&ved=0CCkQsAQ&biw=1366&bih=638#imgdii=_
    There was another model besides the Amigo and Pandora, known as the Caravelle . The Pandora would have been built in the 80s and there was a VW with a similar similar conversion. That roof was capable of sleeping 3 (with ridiculously thin cushions) and another could sleep on the seats in the actual van..

    • Alan Parkinson August 23, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      And I forgot to add another model called the Fargo. All except the Pandora were elevating canvas sided roofs. The Pandora was converted by Caravans International

Leave a Reply

